//
you're reading...
EC&I 831 weekly reflections, Posts November 2013

Sharing or withholding

Tuesday, November 19, 2013 Alec Couros presented the graduate students of EC&I 831 with an introduction to Open Education.

One of the first quotes he shared was that “Open Education is the simple and powerful idea that the world’s knowledge is a public good and that technology in general and the Worldwide Web in particular provide an extraordinary opportunity for everyone to share, use, and reuse knowledge”  by William & Flora Hewlett Foundation.

After hearing this quote, I started thinking about all of the items we use, share and reuse.  We recycle plastics and papers, we purchase water bottles that we can reuse and, like Shannon Sanchuck posted, we even collaborate on ideas on how we can share books.

So why is it that some people are so protective over the knowledge they have?  Are they scared that someone will find fault in what they know?

What are you beliefs when it comes to knowledge being a public good?

About amandahassen

I have been working in the field of Education for the last 11 years. I am presently working as a Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment (CIA) consultant. I am enjoying the research and the collaboration that this jobs entails.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Let me know your thoughts.

Follow Amanda Hassen on WordPress.com

Goodreads

November 2013
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 717 hits
Saskatchewan Reads

A companion document to the Saskatchewan English Language Arts Curriculum-Grades 1, 2, 3

Granted, and...

thoughts on education by Grant Wiggins

La classe de M. Boyer

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

sandykaminski

It's All Good!

Hooked On Innovation

When Innovation slaps you in the face, we slap back.

Shannon Sanchuck

Sharing my thoughts and discoveries to help me become a better educator, parent, and person.

There's a Book for That

Where book love and the joy of a classroom community are shared

Shauna Drackett: A Teaching and Learning Journey

Thanks for stopping by, hope to 'see' you again!

Beyond the Glass

Reflections on education in a connected world. Jackie Sakatch

Kylene Beers

Reader. Writer. Teacher. Speaker. Current Cancer Fighter

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

Adrienne Gear - Reading Power Ltd.

teaching ideas for reading and writing with links to children's literature

Amanda Hassen

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education