//
you're reading...
EC&I 831 weekly reflections, Posts September 2013

If you give Amanda time to explore on the internet… @amanda_hassen#eci831

This weekend I sat down to catch up on a few Tweets from my #eci831 classmates as well read a few of their blog posts. Next thing I knew, two hours had passed and I had a fantastic recipe for supper.

It is what I call “If you give a mouse a cookie” syndrome.  You see, I have come to realize that I am very much the mouse in Laura Numeroff’s book “If you give a mouse a cookie”.

Often, I sit down with a purpose and plan in mind.  I will start by reading an article or a blog.  When it is a good article or post, I start wondering what else I can find out about the subject at hand.  Then, because I think that the information is so interesting or applicable, I email or tweet it to my co-workers, classmates or friends so that they too can enjoy this information.  If there are any links to click on that will lead me to a video, you can be sure I have jumped on that train too.

Oh how the internet can lead me to many places.  By the time I am through with my online workout, I have joined new communities, signed up to follow new Twitters or Bloggers and shared my thoughts for the day.  Once I start sharing my thoughts, I start wondering who has tweeted or posted something new that I better read about…and the cycle starts again!

Am I the only who gets lost in the cycle of the never ending access to information?  If you are like Laura Numeroff’s little mouse, I would love to hear your story!

If you haven’t had a chance to read one of Laura Numeroff’s fabulous books, check out this YouTube video below.


About amandahassen

I have been working in the field of Education for the last 11 years. I am presently working as a Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment (CIA) consultant. I am enjoying the research and the collaboration that this jobs entails.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “If you give Amanda time to explore on the internet… @amanda_hassen#eci831

  1. I’m the worst for getting distracted on the Internet, but that’s also how I run into some fantastic articles or ideas!

    You Tube is a killer. It always seems to know exactly what I want to watch next and then it never ends!

    Thanks for your post.

    Gillian

    Posted by gillianowlan | September 30, 2013, 6:32 pm
  2. I can relate to this post! This happens to me all of the time. I end up in places I didn’t think I would. Last week I participated in my first Twitter chat. I didn’t mean to…it just happened! Thank you for sharing this! Squirrel!

    Posted by Shannon | September 30, 2013, 8:03 pm
  3. Hi, Amanda, I really liked your post about starting somewhere and then it leads to something else and then something else and so on. I’m not sure I’ve connected with communities yet, but I do get lost in the journey. Thanks for the post.

    Posted by gredey3w2 | October 1, 2013, 2:59 am
  4. Hi Amanda, I too can relate to your post. There are many instances where I have ended up on webpages completely unrelated to my original search. Sometimes those finds have been really useful for other projects I was working on at the time. YouTube is definitely the worst!

    Posted by Dean Benko (@DeanBenko) | October 12, 2013, 9:55 pm

Let me know your thoughts.

Follow Amanda Hassen on WordPress.com
September 2013
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 610 hits
Saskatchewan Reads

A companion document to the Saskatchewan English Language Arts Curriculum-Grades 1, 2, 3

Granted, and...

thoughts on education by Grant Wiggins

La classe de M. Boyer

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

sandykaminski

It's All Good!

Hooked On Innovation

When Innovation slaps you in the face, we slap back.

Shannon Sanchuck

Sharing my thoughts and discoveries to help me become a better educator, parent, and person.

There's a Book for That

Where book love and the joy of a classroom community are shared

Shauna Drackett: A Teaching and Learning Journey

Thanks for stopping by, hope to 'see' you again!

Beyond the Glass

Reflections on education in a connected world. Jackie Sakatch

Kylene Beers

Reader. Writer. Teacher. Speaker.

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

readingpowergear

teaching ideas for reading and writing with links to children's literature

Amanda Hassen

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

