//
you're reading...
EC&I 831 weekly reflections, Posts September 2013

Community- can it exist online?

Our motto in my school division this year is, “I can learn here, I can believe here, I belong here”.  When teachers can establish a true sense of community students will feel that they can learn there, that they can believe there, and that they belong there.  When one feels that they belong many challenges are met with a sense of “I am not alone” and “WE can do this”.

Tonight, Rick Schwier was a guest speaker in our EC & I 831 class.  We discussed what communities look like and what it means to be part of a community.  Then taking those thoughts, we applied it to being a part of an online community.  Not to be a naysayer, but I never really believed that one could sincerely feel part of a community online if the community was made up of people they didn’t know.  In addition, I believed that it was establishing a false sense of friendship.

However, by the end of class tonight, my opinion has come full circle, especially when I look back to my school division’s motto.  First, “I can learn here”.  I am indeed learning, and when I come to a hurdle in EC & I 831 (and I have encountered many), there is always someone offering advice.  Second, “I can believe here”.  I can believe that the values and ideas I share will be respected.  As we get to know each other and develop a sense of trust, this belief will strengthen.  And finally, “I belong here”.  It is fascinating watching the chat box and reading the stories shared and the questions that are then posed.  It is obvious that our classmates genuinely want to get to know each other.

Therefore, are the online communities we belong to real?  Yes, if our sense of belonging is being met it doesn’t matter if it is in the traditional sense.  Think back to the day of having a pen pal.  There were many pen pal relationships that lasted for years through ink and paper.  For someone like my grandma, her pen pal was her best friend even though they had never met in person.

The internet is adding to what communities are and changing mindsets while bringing people together.  Online communities are the evolved version of the 21st Century pen pals.

About amandahassen

I have been working in the field of Education for the last 11 years. I am presently working as a Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment (CIA) consultant. I am enjoying the research and the collaboration that this jobs entails.

Discussion

One thought on “Community- can it exist online?

  1. I enjoyed your insights. Thanks

    Posted by jackiesakatch | September 26, 2013, 1:12 am

Let me know your thoughts.

Follow Amanda Hassen on WordPress.com
September 2013
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 612 hits
Saskatchewan Reads

A companion document to the Saskatchewan English Language Arts Curriculum-Grades 1, 2, 3

Granted, and...

thoughts on education by Grant Wiggins

La classe de M. Boyer

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

sandykaminski

It's All Good!

Hooked On Innovation

When Innovation slaps you in the face, we slap back.

Shannon Sanchuck

Sharing my thoughts and discoveries to help me become a better educator, parent, and person.

There's a Book for That

Where book love and the joy of a classroom community are shared

Shauna Drackett: A Teaching and Learning Journey

Thanks for stopping by, hope to 'see' you again!

Beyond the Glass

Reflections on education in a connected world. Jackie Sakatch

Kylene Beers

Reader. Writer. Teacher. Speaker.

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

readingpowergear

teaching ideas for reading and writing with links to children's literature

Amanda Hassen

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

