//
you're reading...
EC&I 831 weekly reflections, Posts September 2013

Who to believe: Teaching Ethically with the Free Web

This weekend I read an article that one of my EC and I 831 classmates shared with us via Twitter. Liz Homan asks her readers to reflect on questions such as “who owns the work students post online?” and “what are the teacher’s responsibilities when asking students to use technology”. Both of these questions are extremely important in this day and age of accountability.

Currently in my school division, we have a tech team working on creating policies around these same types of questions. Not only do we want our teachers to be as informed as possible as to what is their responsibility, but we also want our teachers feeling capable and confident in teaching our students net-etiquette.

The questions I am wondering are:
1. How do you know which article, website, blog to follow in order to stay informed?
2. Knowing that this was an American article and that in Canada we use the same social media sites listed in the article, does this mean the same legalities apply to us?
3. How does one remain on top of all of the rules when the Net itself is in constant change?

http://www.insidehighered.com/blogs/gradhacker/teaching-ethically-free-web#.Uj0NBNNWVhk.twitter

About amandahassen

I have been working in the field of Education for the last 11 years. I am presently working as a Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment (CIA) consultant. I am enjoying the research and the collaboration that this jobs entails.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Who to believe: Teaching Ethically with the Free Web

  1. Those are some pretty tricky questions! I’ll try my best:

    1. I following a lot of different blogs and I find out about new ones through my connections and via the blogs I follow. I find that after a while you filter through to the ones that are the most helpful and then you can grow it from there. It certainly does take a while though.
    2. Canada does use a lot of the same social media sites, but we have different privacy laws and general laws. So I image some of it applies, but I’m sure there are differences. I know for example I can use SurveyMonkey in my research because they store their data on an American server, meaning that data is being held under different privacy laws
    3. I try to take things on a case by case basis. It’s a little tricky to keep on top of things. We have a copyright officer on the library and she has enough trouble keeping on top of things. I thinking knowing and teaching the basic and broad standards and rules and then examining things more closely as they come about is the best way to do it.

    I don’t know if that’s very helpful!

    Thanks for your post. It got me thinking.

    Gillian

    Posted by Gillian Nowlan | September 24, 2013, 9:08 pm
  2. Thanks for you post Amanda. This is a dilemma. We are dealing with the same thing right now in what student data can be stored on publisher websites for example. We have been told that any assessment that has marks attached shouldn’t be completed in a third party tool because it is harder to retrieve the work and grades if a student appeal happens and it gets into the issue of privacy. Instead we should use our Moodle LMS. I know some instructors do this anyways and then apologize later if an issue of privacy or challenging a grade happens. At a post-secondary students have the right to now use a third party tool such as Google docs if it is made mandatory but I don’t know of any students that have done this. But, if students are given options for assignments so they can choose what tools they want to use and how to use them. You may not have this luxury in K-12. I would think that students are not in a position to make this decision on their own. They just do what they are told by their teachers.

    The U of R is supposedly working on a policy to address some of these issues. I don’t really have an answer for you

    Posted by gregb | September 24, 2013, 11:18 pm

Let me know your thoughts.

Follow Amanda Hassen on WordPress.com
September 2013
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 610 hits
Saskatchewan Reads

A companion document to the Saskatchewan English Language Arts Curriculum-Grades 1, 2, 3

Granted, and...

thoughts on education by Grant Wiggins

La classe de M. Boyer

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

sandykaminski

It's All Good!

Hooked On Innovation

When Innovation slaps you in the face, we slap back.

Shannon Sanchuck

Sharing my thoughts and discoveries to help me become a better educator, parent, and person.

There's a Book for That

Where book love and the joy of a classroom community are shared

Shauna Drackett: A Teaching and Learning Journey

Thanks for stopping by, hope to 'see' you again!

Beyond the Glass

Reflections on education in a connected world. Jackie Sakatch

Kylene Beers

Reader. Writer. Teacher. Speaker.

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

readingpowergear

teaching ideas for reading and writing with links to children's literature

Amanda Hassen

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

