//
you're reading...
EC&I 831 weekly reflections, Posts September 2013

A tech lesson from my 13 year old neighbour

Saturday afternoon I spent learning about iOS 7.0, best apps for creating videos and posters and how one grade 8 class uses technology from my 13 year old neighbour.

Our impromptu tech lesson began with my young neighbour explaining and demonstrating why I needed to update my iPad from its current setting to the iOS 7.0 software update. It fascinated me to see his ease with using both my iPad and iPhone. His fingers were like tiny ballerinas twirling and gliding around, with absolute confidence, the stage the screens provided. My young teacher remained very patient and took the time to answer all of my questions. And when he couldn’t, he searched it out, experimented and then offered me his opinion as to what would work best for me and my capabilities.

Knowing how knowledgeable this young man is, I asked him how technology was used in his class. He explained that they have a SmartBoard that the teacher uses to display the lesson. He shared that students interact with the board when answering questions or explaining their thinking. I asked him if they use technology, other than the SmartBoarad, when doing projects. He said that they often used different video apps.

What I came to realize is that for students, in Kindergarten to grade 8, the use of technology really isn’t a novelty for them as it is for some educators. Most students are playing with technology 24/7. Playing with technology is simply a a part of their lifestyle.

Interestingly enough, my neighbours use of technology to share his learning is not much different than my own as a child. We went to the chalkboard to show our thinking and answer questions. We used videos for our projects. The point I am trying to make is students are still doing the same things in class that my generation did, just with new tools. As many educators have come to realize, technology in many classrooms has not yet improved the education of our students. In my role as a learning consultant, what role can I play in supporting teachers in using technology to improve the learning of our students?

The role I can play is modelling the learning experience with my neighbour. I gave him a target: help your “old” lady with her tech devices. He took this as a challenge and went above and beyond seeking out hawkers to my questions. As mentioned, he modelled and adaptated his teaching to meet my needs. Because of my questions, he not only learned something new, but he will be able to retain the information and apply later on I his life. Is this not what we are trying to do in our classrooms? I am sure many teachers are already giving students a problem to solve and, within reason, letting them loose to figure it out using what ever tools they prefer. My experience this weekend finally helped me to understand how technology is not just another tool; it creates life long learners!

I am also curious to know what type of EC and I 831 classes will be offered to the youth of today when they start on their Masters classes? I am thankful for all that I am being taught in my Social Media and Open Education class as it is helping me to grow as a digital literate member of society. I wonder if in 10 years, I will be retaking social media classes with today’s teens in order to keep my head above the Social Media water?

About amandahassen

I have been working in the field of Education for the last 11 years. I am presently working as a Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment (CIA) consultant. I am enjoying the research and the collaboration that this jobs entails.

Discussion

One thought on “A tech lesson from my 13 year old neighbour

  1. My seven year old is often my teacher showing me new and effective ways to use technology.

    Posted by jackiesakatch | September 22, 2013, 7:54 pm

Let me know your thoughts.

Follow Amanda Hassen on WordPress.com
September 2013
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 83 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 610 hits
Saskatchewan Reads

A companion document to the Saskatchewan English Language Arts Curriculum-Grades 1, 2, 3

Granted, and...

thoughts on education by Grant Wiggins

La classe de M. Boyer

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

sandykaminski

It's All Good!

Hooked On Innovation

When Innovation slaps you in the face, we slap back.

Shannon Sanchuck

Sharing my thoughts and discoveries to help me become a better educator, parent, and person.

There's a Book for That

Where book love and the joy of a classroom community are shared

Shauna Drackett: A Teaching and Learning Journey

Thanks for stopping by, hope to 'see' you again!

Beyond the Glass

Reflections on education in a connected world. Jackie Sakatch

Kylene Beers

Reader. Writer. Teacher. Speaker.

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

readingpowergear

teaching ideas for reading and writing with links to children's literature

Amanda Hassen

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

