//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Who am I?

When asked to describe who I am, I often think of the Caterpillar in Alice in Wonderland who asks Alice “Who are YOU?”  Poor Alice stumbles through her answer as she knows not who she is but who she was.

So WHO am I? I have been blessed with the role of being a wife to one amazing husband, a daughter to loving parents, a big sister to two younger sisters whom I talk with almost every night, and an aunt to 6 outstanding nieces and nephews and one who will soon be joining the family at the end of October.  I try to take advantage of spending as much time with my friends and family.  Playing games and laughing is a big part of our relationship.  

Professionally, I am an educator who spent 8 years teaching French Immersion to children in grades Kindergarten to grade 3.  Throughout that time I had the opportunity to be a teacher librarian and a Leveled Literacy Intervention Coach.  For the last three years I have had the role of a learning consultant.  I crave learning and new experiences, and believe my new role has been tremendously fulfilling.

My spare time, though rare, is very much treasured.  I  love being outside gardening, walking or simply sitting outside reading.  To de-stress I make perogies, buns or pies. And when possible, my husband and I travel and volunteer.

We both volunteer for Habitat for Humanity,  and from time to time we serve meals at Riverside Mission.  A number of years ago, we had the fortunate opportunity of combining our love for travelling and volunteering when we spent two months working at a Children’s Hospice in Cape Town, South Africa.  This experience was a life changing experience.

All this being said, I am simply a girl who enjoys being with others, playing, laughing and reading children’s picture books.  My favorite quote from Mamma Mia “I have grown up,” ” Well then grow back down!”  I tried so hard to grow up fast, and now, I really am trying to grow back down!

 

About amandahassen

I have been working in the field of Education for the last 11 years. I am presently working as a Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment (CIA) consultant. I am enjoying the research and the collaboration that this jobs entails.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Let me know your thoughts.

Follow Amanda Hassen on WordPress.com
September 2013
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 610 hits
Saskatchewan Reads

A companion document to the Saskatchewan English Language Arts Curriculum-Grades 1, 2, 3

Granted, and...

thoughts on education by Grant Wiggins

La classe de M. Boyer

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

sandykaminski

It's All Good!

Hooked On Innovation

When Innovation slaps you in the face, we slap back.

Shannon Sanchuck

Sharing my thoughts and discoveries to help me become a better educator, parent, and person.

There's a Book for That

Where book love and the joy of a classroom community are shared

Shauna Drackett: A Teaching and Learning Journey

Thanks for stopping by, hope to 'see' you again!

Beyond the Glass

Reflections on education in a connected world. Jackie Sakatch

Kylene Beers

Reader. Writer. Teacher. Speaker.

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

readingpowergear

teaching ideas for reading and writing with links to children's literature

Amanda Hassen

EC & I 831 My journey through Social Media & Open Education

